Date #31–Mr. Josh

Well, it’s official….the final first date!! I did it!! 🙂

I have been looking forward to this date with Mr. Josh for a while now. Mr. Josh emailed me a while back telling me his sister had forwarded my site to him. {Can I just give a quick shout-out to all the sisters and sister-in-laws out there?? Seriously! Without you, the well would’ve been dry after date #6!! I really appreciate your help!!} He basically won me over when he wrote, “I’ve never been on an internet date, let alone driving 300+ miles to go on one….some may call it crazy but everyone needs a little crazy in their lives! :)” I knew we would get along just fine and I had no problem driving 300+ miles either to meet him. We both agreed it would be an adventure to meet halfway. Combine that will my love of road trips and I’ve been really looking forward to today.

Mr. Josh lives in Salt Lake City, Utah, and according to my calculations the exact halfway mark is Parowan, Utah–home of The Pizza Barn!! My mom grew up in Parowan, so I have been to Parowan AT MINIMUM once a year for the last 31 years. And for the last 15 of those years I have been wanting to go to The Pizza Barn, but it has yet to come to fruition. So, when opportunity came a knocking, I was ready!  We met in the empty Pizza Barn parking lot. Naturally, The Pizza Barn is only open 4 hours?!?? From 5PM-9PM. So, we had some time to explore. Mr. Josh has never been to Parowan or Brianhead, so we headed up to Brianhead and I introduced him to the life-changing Cedar Breaks (or a IMG_0105mini Bryce Canyon as he called it). I love it up there! It was a beautiful day, the sky was so blue and clear with vivid white clouds poking out here and there! It was fun to sit there and talk overlooking this beautiful place. I won’t lie, before getting out of the car I glanced at Mr. Josh’s outside temperature feature and saw that it was 54 degrees…I was a little nervous. It was nice though. Mr. Josh was aware of the temperature and didn’t keep us out there too long.

I loved Mr. Josh’s calmness. It was reassuring and somehow instilled a confidence in me. He was even-killed and calm. I loved it. I loved that there wasn’t an urgency to find the next thing to say. The conversation was constant, but I noticed what he said was thought out, intelligent and sincere. He didn’t just try to fill in the space. It was nice.

I loved his laugh. It was pure and good and it made me feel like I was funny. And if we haven’t learned anything else, we all know I like to feel funny.

We had a lot of the same interests, so it was fun to talk about those and our philosophies on them.

The drive up and down the canyon was beautiful and fun. We ended up at The Pizza Barn again. We were greeted by a cowbell attached to the door, so every time it opened it rang. {I giggled.} Rita came out from the back and sat us. We asked the specialty she said, “Pizza {I giggled.} but you could order spaghetti if you wanted to.” It was perfect. She went on to tell us that most people get the 6 item pizza where you can pick whatever 6 items you want. Mr. Josh and I noticed there was a total of like 7 items total to choose from…we laughed. The coolest part??? Mr. Josh ordered this fabulous cinnamon with frosting breadsticks as an appetizer!! They were awesome. I was starving, but they were awesome. But how fun is that?? The pizza was awesome…definitely a must do if ever in the Parowan area!! It was good.

After dinner, Mr. Josh walked me to my car and told me he had a birthday present for me. I was so surprised I don’t even know what I said. I just thought it was the sweetest thing ever! How adorable!! I got to open it and it was a book that he had talked about earlier in the date and one I have seen in the bookstore and knew I would love! It’s called Three Cups of Tea, and it’s about a man who provided humanitarian relief and education to the girls of Pakistan and Afghanistan against the will of the Taliban. I am going to love it! It was perfect. But then to add to that, there was a cute birthday note inside that I don’t have to share because it’s my birthday. But I will tell you about this cool poem he put in there…which is very fitting at this final first date.

Risks

To laugh is to risk appearing the fool.
To weep is to risk appearing sentimental.
To reach out for another is to risk involvement.
To expose feelings it to risk exposing your true self.
To place your ideas, your dreams, before a crowd is to risk their loss.
 
To love is to risk not being loved in return.
To live is to risk dying.
To hope is to risk despair.
To try is to risk failure.
 
But risks must be taken, because the greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing.
The person who risks nothing, does nothing, has nothing, and is nothing.
They may avoid suffering and sorrow, but they cannot learn, feel, change, grow, love live.
Chained by their attitudes, they are a slave, they have forfeited their freedom.
Only a person who risks is free.

 

I couldn’t agree more! Thanks for the gift and sweet note, Mr. Josh!

IMG_0104

My Favs:

  1. His calmness!
  2. His laugh!
  3. His willingness to take a risk!
  4. He bought me a birthday present!!! Umm..adorable!
  5. His quiet strength.

Google Love Meter: 84%

I did it…and now I am going to bed! 🙂

7 Responses to Date #31–Mr. Josh

  1. JoAnn says:

    How can I not love a guy who meets my daughter in Parowan for a date….and then a drive up to Cedar Breaks on top of that! WOW! Josh definitely gets my vote! (Well, at least one of my votes.)
    You have certainly taken us on an exciting adventure and I will miss my daily fix of “Fun With 31”.
    Happy Birthday and here is to “Something New With 32”. I love you.

  2. Julie Robbins says:

    ummm no picture??? Was really hoping to see the guy that would drive hours to meet a beautiful and fun girl!

  3. Jennifer Garbett says:

    Oh my, this one sounds like a keeper!! SO much you said reminds me of Reuben! The poetry (I used to get) the well thought out responses instead of just talking to fill up the time…hmmm…this is SOOOOOOOOo hard, I want to vote for them all =)

    Happy early birthday, i’ll call you tomorrow my sweet friend!

  4. Paige Price Barron says:

    Josh was great. Perfect way to end “Fun With 31”. Voting will not be easy. This guy is very thoughtful.

  5. Sandy C says:

    Wishing a beautiful red head a beautiful birthday!

    Sandy c.

  6. Collette says:

    So is last the best of all the gang?

  7. Anna says:

    Ok- So I just found out that his sister found out about the website from my blog!!! You are welcome!!! 😉
    So sweet! Love that he brought you a bday gift.
    Im so excited to see who won!

Leave a Reply

