Date #30–Mr. Firefighters

May 26, 2009

Apparently the pressure is on and some of the players can’t handle it!

Last night I got a phone call from Date #30 giving me several excuses on why he couldn’t go out tonight. Nice. I now have less than 24 hours to find a date. I will say, my pride has been so lowered that really, I have no problem begging men to take me out…don’t know if that is something to be proud of or not???? I don’t really have a choice…especially in a situation like this. So, I proceeded to text several guys all of which had other plans…humbling really.

So, where does a girl go that needs a last minute date and can’t find any man who will go out with her??

To the local fire station, of course! 🙂 Firefighters can’t say no to lonely women at their doorstep…it’s their civil duty! I knew I was safe.IMG_0099

So, I called to see what was for dinner and volunteered to bring dessert! Luckily I have an insider at the station and he told me what dessert to bring. I got awarded the “Best dinner guest, EVER”! Endorsed by Henderson Fire Department…THAT, my friends, is a big deal!!

For those who don’t know, I worked ER for 6 years and definitely fell in love with my firefighters! I would lecture them on behaving themselves and they would bring a smile to my face and a whole lot of blushing to my face! It was a beautiful thing. It was like having 100 cute brothers…because I knew too much to date them! 😉 But it seemed only appropriate to include my firefighters in with the ranks of the 31ers!

When I got there, they were busy cooking (well and playing Xbox, naturally) but they all stopped to say hi or

The Chad! One of my favorites! He keeps conversations interesting!

The Chad! One of my favorites! He keeps conversations interesting!

introduce themselves. Perfect gentlemen…for the first 3 minutes! 🙂 Here’s the thing, when you put 11 men together for 24 hour spurts definitions of “gentlemen” change…but the definition of funny gets even funnier!! But there is something so endearing about watching men teasing each other, laughing and coming up with witty comebacks. I love it! Even more endearing was while they were doing it they were aware I was there making sure I was taken care of. Getting me a something to drink. Making sure I went first to eat. Bringing me my napkin. Oh, I love that feeling of being taken care of!

Can I tell you what they just whipped up for the night?? Grilled salmon…with the most phenomenal spices ever…and I mean ever! I loved it. Next? Tri tip that was so tender I kept trying to figure out how they cooked it. Baked beans. And Velveeta Shells and Cheese (only the best for the station). 3 men were in charge of this phenomenal meal….I was completely impressed!

Over dinner I got to share dating stories which I quickly regretted as they started plotting to form as a brotherhood to sabotage the vote…there is a lot of them, and you don’t mess with the brotherhood…I really am a little nervous.  Nothing gets by these guys, the teasing continued throughout the night. I really don’t think a comment was made without some joke, laugh, or jab being made the entire night. I was laughing so hard afraid to say anything as I knew I had the potential of being the next victim. It was at that point that the conversation turned to what cosmetic procedure I should have done…a qualitative study by the Henderson Fire Department…nothing is sacred. Nothing.

After dinner, the guys immediately started clearing the table, cleaning the dishes, sweeping and mopping…it was like a well-oiled machine! Meanwhile, one stayed behind to keep me company! Why is  polygamy bad again??? Ha!! Just kidding!! Really. Just kidding. After dinner had some dating and marriage advice and more teasing and laughing.

We sat outside and I learned that if you see firemen sitting outside you should give a little honk and wave…these men seem to put a lot of value on that! 🙂 So, feel free to send a little love next time you are driving by. It was fun to sit on the engine and enjoy the beautiful weather and hilarious teasing. It was a perfect, relaxing and nice date! And I got home early…there’s rules at this civil institutions…or there should be anyway! It was a great night and fun to catch up with some old friends and meet some new ones! Thanks Station 98!

My Favs:

  1. They are so welcoming! I seemed completely normal that a girl who got stood up (okay, not stood up, but you understand) would just stop by the fire station for dinner! I loved it!
  2. The food was phenomenal! Are there fire station cook books?? Because there should be!
  3. The constant, hilarious teasing and laughing.
  4. They work hard and respect their jobs.
  5. They let me call them my firefighters and they love me as much as I love them!

Google Love Meter: 91% Sweet! 🙂

