Date #26–Mr. Mike M.

This is getting really hard…really!

IMG_0090

I started hearing about Mr. Mike several months ago. I received a phone call from one of my friends in Arizona telling me all about him. I could hear my friend’s husband in the back gushing over Mr. Mike. I think I heard about accomplishments that occurred while Mr. Mike was in 3rd grade! I was wondering if I was being represented as well as Mr. Mike was to me!  My friend’s husband really couldn’t stress enough just what an impressive, good man Mr. Mike is; so much so,  I wondered if my friend’s husband wanted to date Mr. Mike!!! 🙂

So when this project came to fruition and I knew I was going to be coming to Phoenix it seemed only appropriate to see if Mr. Mike would be willing to be part of the project. He was. And yes, he is just as impressive as my friends say he is!

Mr. Mike seemed so natural and genuine. I got the impression that he is extremely humble and either downplays accomplishments or talents in his life or just keeps them quiet. He turned a lot of the questions back to me, taking the attention away from himself. It’s a good thing that I was completely enthralled with some of his life experiences…because I would bring it right back to him! 🙂 He’s removed worms from wounds in Africa, he’s gone village to village to see what the needs of the village are and to see how he can help, he’s had flesh eating illnesses! If that doesn’t define cool, not too sure what does!! And, Mom, are you ready for this?? One day he would love to live in Africa! 🙂 (Sorry, Mr. Mike, you just lost a vote….) I am pretty convinced that there are a lot more stories that Mr. Mike could’ve shared but chose not to. And I thought the girls were suppose to leave the men wanting for more…Mr. Mike definitely  had more stories that I was dying to hear. I could’ve stayed forever talking with him.

Mr. Mike was happy it showed through his eyes, smiles, and his stories! There is no better feeling than being around someone who is happy and at peace with themselves. He kept me smiling and laughing with his witty comments, hilarious observations, and fun stories. He was fun to talk to. He was going out of town this evening for Memorial weekend, so we only got to meet for lunch. He had looked at the site and had apologized for the simpleness of the date, but I really think I enjoyed myself just as much just talking with Mr. Mike! Sometimes less is more…and that was definitely true in this case! I found myself repeating some of the fun stories and witty comments later in the day…I consider that a good thing!

I really enjoyed Mr. Mike’s ambition and goals. He’s a man who stands for what he believes, and it isn’t so much in what he says but the presence he carries. He isn’t afraid to sacrifice and work hard, and he isn’t afraid to be honest and to make fun of himself. I love to when someone is able to acknowledge weakness in a light hearted manner. It instantly makes people feel more comfortable! And I was, and secretly (well, not so secret now) I didn’t want it to end!

My Favs:

  1. He’s humble, but still willing to open up and share experiences and weaknesses.
  2. His amazing international travels and experiences.
  3. His smile that exuded happiness
  4. His witty comments and sense of humor!—loved it!
  5. The fact that you know what he stands for without even talking to him!

Google Love Meter—92%

8 Responses to Date #26–Mr. Mike M.

  1. Collette says:

    Oh goodness! Yes, it’s 4:22am and I’m so glad I read this. I’ll be happy today! He sounds like a completely awesome and fascinating guy. This is getting even harder. I’m thinking a bracket system might be necessary.

  2. Andrea Huckstep says:

    Sounds like we could have a NEW front runner!

    So, can he make it to Vegas for the 2nd date??

  3. Sherrie says:

    Good to see you aren’t limiting yourself to one state! I personally think you should also check out Cali…I hear there’s some fabulous men there too! Hey maybe you could do this again and do 50 dates in 50 states. Oh ya…think about it!

  4. Bethany says:

    I love good people!

  5. Jen says:

    Yeah, I’m pretty sure Reuben might date Mike if he wasn’t married to me =) j/k, although he swears now he never “GUSHED” over him!! This IS getting hard…how is one going to choose? Seriously, can’t we choose a couple of 2nd dates?

  6. Paige Price Barron says:

    Mike is VERY adventurous. He sounds like a rare find. Neat person!

  7. Shelby says:

    I agree with the gals – It’s just too hard to choose ONE of these great men! I vote for a “bracket system” instead of “Journey to the Final Four” it could be “Janelle’s Journey…continued!” 😉 I love the idea of 50 dates in 50 states…now that could be a great idea for a romantic comedy!

  8. Nelly says:

    Mr. Mike sounds very cool.

Leave a Reply

