Date #8–Mr. Kevin

I need to say how amazed I am at how much fun I am having! But even more than that…I am amazed at how fun these dates are!img5

Did I mention we flew to Baghdad??

Did I mention we flew to Baghdad??

Today, I went out with Mr. Kevin. Mr. Kevin is in law enforcement and as with most men in law enforcement the rules don’t apply to him! (JUST kidding!! Just kidding, no need for hurt feelings!) In his defense, he did give me options and I CHOSE to go into the desert with a complete stranger and lots of guns…my mama taught me well. Don’t worry, Mom, I did have the GPS activated on my phone! :)It needs to be noted that Mr. Kevin was adorably prepared for the date! I had come straight from a class and he had a cooler with water, granola bars, and apples if I needed it. A nice little touch! We off roads for a while and found a place to set up the gun shop!  We started with a 22-gauge revolver, I kindof felt like the ladies in the old Western movies. It was a cute gun, am I allowed to say that about a gun without offending the owner??? Mr. Kevin was extremely patient and a great teacher and really patient. I was having some difficulties with the whole aiming thing! The fact that I would close my eyes some of the time and flinch everytime I went to shoot didn’t really help the matter. I tried to fake it, but Mr. Kevin knew. We upgraded to a different guns as I progressed….well, we just upgraded. I tried a different type of revolver that was real cool, but I don’t remember the name of it.  And honestly, I was worse at that bad girl than the cute little 22.  I had decided earlier that I would leave the red area of the target for Mr. Kevin and I would take the boring cream square around it! (I know, I’m sweet.)  But as the day went on I decided, what’s the fun in hitting a target anyway??Had to capture the chaos…and that’s with one missing! 🙂

And then he pulled out the military warfare artillery!!  Straight up “Made in Israel” sticker on the bad boy, and that is img_00022when my skills shined!! I was scared out of my mind to shoot it at the beginning! I had to rest my face on the gun and the only way Mr. Kevin could reassure me was by saying the kickback wasn’t “that bad”.  Meanwhile I am picturing shattered cheek bones… I finally got up the nerve to shoot and it was crazy, it was a semi-automatic (I think) so I could just open fire on the hillside. It was then that I started to understand why a lot of men really like guns…that was fun!!!  And just when I was getting comfortable…he pulled out the sniper gun. Pretty sure Mr. Kevin wouldn’t appreciate me calling it a sniper gun, but I can’t remember what it is called…and it had its own built in stand for heaven’s sake…it was a monster! It was half the size of me! He showed me how it works and shot a few rounds and then asked if I wanted to shoot, I quickly turned him down. It scared me!

So, then he whipped out cans of beer….soda, I mean soda (rule bender) for my final target. I got to choose my weapon, I of course chose the Israel Machine and I’ll have you know I was 4/4 on my cans! No proof of that stuff anywhere after I was done with it!! Try to bend the rules with me, I don’t think so! 🙂

It was a fun day and Mr. Kevin was a great teacher and again….real patient! It really is just so fun learning all these new things!

We grabbed some lunch afterward and got to interrogate him on every law enforcement question I had! It was fabulous…and yes, city officers CAN pull you over on the freeway…in case you were wondering!

My Favs:

  1. Did I mention his patience??
  2. He had a real calming attitude about him, it was nice.
  3. I’m pretty sure that man couldn’t tell a lie if he wanted to…and that’s a REAL good thing!
  4. Those baby blues…(what’s up with these men and their eyes?!?)

Google Love Meter Score…(you ready for this??) 97.5%

Woah!! My roommates and I have never seen Google Rate that high!! That is some good name combination!! 🙂

8 Responses to Date #8–Mr. Kevin

  1. Andrea Huckstep says:

    Umm…you really aren’t going to tell us about this amazing date and not give us a picture (of him)…are you?

    I really can’t believe how creative these guys are with their dating ideas. I LOVE that so many of them are finding a true passion of theirs and teaching you the ropes of it! It’s AWESOME!

    You really are going to be a pro dater when this is over!

    • funwith31 says:

      Oops!! It was in there at some point, no so sur what happened. Thanks Andrea!! I’ve got to represent!

  2. Anna says:

    Hey… I am Carolyn Smiths sister in-law. She told me about your “project” and I had to check it out.
    How fun! Dating can be a bust, but you have such a great attitude about it!
    You are so positive about them all. I am loving how creative they are.
    My favorite part is when you put the top five favorites about each guy/date. I need to do this with my own dating… It is so easy to do the oppisite.
    Anyways, cant wait to read more! Hope you don’t mind my blog stalking!
    Good Luck!!
    ps- Love your red hair!

  3. Jennifer Jensen says:

    Oooooh, guns! That would’ve been a totally fun date. How cool you’ve been able to expand your dating horizons with all this.

    You and Andrea are early risers.

  4. Sherrie says:

    Why can’t every girl experience this?? Too bad I’m married now! 😉 Very cool date…I would have dug that one!

  5. Jennifer Garbett says:

    I’m not gonna lie, you sure look hot holding a big ol’ gun in baghdad!! Mr. Kevin did a great job finding something new and different to do…props to him! And please reconsider your thought that its a good idea to go on a first date in the middle of nowhere with a man and his guns…makes me a bit nervous!

  6. Nelly says:

    This guy gets Blake’s vote. Anything to do with guns.

  7. Collette says:

    Really, Janelle. I thought with your upbringing that our father would have taught you to shoot guns better. You’ve just embarrassed a few of our relatives 🙂

    Sounds like you had a great time. Can’t wait for tomorrow’s!

Leave a Reply

