Date #6–Mr. Ryan

Mr. Ryan and I hit it off immediately! Well, at least I’d like to think so. How can you not hit it off with someone who gets “it”?? He loved the idea of funwith31! And I loved that he loved it! He didn’t make me feel weird or desperate or crazy at all. I loved the questions he asked, I loved the way he allowed me to explain why I am doing it and how uncomfortable it all makes me and how uncharacteristic it really is for me. I loved that he read about the other dates and thought they were cool, and in no way seemed intimidated by them or the situation. I knew right then that Mr. Ryan was going to be a fun date!

And then, he bought himself a few more bonus points by bringing his OWN camera…and he started the picture taking process! Any out there who know me, know that I love a good photo ops…both taking them and being in them. So I had a smile on my face.

We started the date out going to the Springs Preserve. It is a little oasis….well oasis is a strong word, but a little vegetation paradise in the middle of the city. Once home to ancient tribes and the resting place for weary Spanish explorers (I got that off the website). I’m sure we would’ve learned that and the history of the Vegas valley had we been paying attention to anything else besides ourselves. But, let’s be honest…the purpose really wasn’t to understand Vegas history, nor horticulture for that matter. So it was fun to walk along the trails and hear about different places life has taken us. Mr. Ryan is in the Army so he has been able to travel quite a bit and that is always fun to talk about.

We sat and talked for sometime the weather was perfect and the conversation easy, it was nice. Next on the agenda was the driving range. And here’s the confession…I didn’t want to go. While it sounded like fun and a great idea…I am miserable at golfing. Well, “driving” because I have never been golfing, but just hitting a still ball low to the ground I seem to have difficulty with. And let’s be honest, a girl can only handle so much confidence testers! Karate…ah, so-so. Hip-hop…embarrassingly slow. And now the driving range?? I was seriously considering taking the line out that said, “I like to do things that make me slightly uncomfortable” and “always up for an adventure” stuff! I mean, couldn’t we do something that I was somewhat good at?? 🙂 (Side note: Later when I mentioned this, Mr. Ryan was sweet enough to offer us taking a CPR class…now THAT sounds like a good time!! :))  So when he offered dinner and no reference to the driving range, I was quick to jump on it. Because I do have some experience in eating, I can do that pretty well!!  Somehow though the driving range became part of the equation again, and we were on our way! I told him that cute, classy people golf, so it only seemed right that I learned! So off I went!

I got more nervous getting ready to hit that ball than I have been on the 6 dates combined! He taught me a few

Look at that intense concentration!

Look at that intense concentration!

techniques and I watched him a few times. Then it was my turn…surprisingly I swung and I missed, and I missed again, and yep…again. I then apologized ahead of time in the event that  any fowl language were to come from my lips. He laughed. I was serious.  He gave me a few more pointers and I practiced my swing some more and then got ready for round #2….and I hit it. Mr. Ryan kept saying I was doing really good. But I didn’t believe him. But as I kept “driving”, I really think he was right! 🙂  I was pretty good! And I was actually having a really good time! All I needed was some good teaching! I’m ready to go off to the courses now…well…almost ready! It was a blast, all those nerves and bad attitude for nothing! 🙂

We ended up at a restaurant that I’ve always wanted to try and I was way excited about it. I thought it was the perfect place for our date and I loved it! But the best part is the conversation kept going and I kept enjoying it. We covered everything from the war in Iraq to religion….pretty sure those are topics we are told to avoid when first meeting people! 🙂 And then onto dating nerves from a guy’s perspective to interests and things we want to do “someday”. He answered questions the way I would answer them and we had a lot in common. Many times in the night I thought, “Oh, WE should do that” because there just seemed like so much we would both enjoy. And then it ended, with a nice hug and me mumbling over my words…I guess that’s a good sign! I think it is anyway.

My Favs:

  1. His confident, fun, intrigued attitude on funwith31.
  2. I don’t know how, but I know he respected me…and I love that.
  3. He seems genuine and not afraid to tell me what he thinks.
  4. The fact that I forgot about everything I have to do tonight when we were together.
  5. That I smiled all the way home.

ryan1

Google Love Meter Score 87%

**Disclaimer…the Google Love Meter in no way reflects my feelings or attraction to the date. It is a simple Google Gadget that I type in my name and my date’s name and the gadget gives me a love score based just off our names. The gadget has no idea what we did for our date or even my innermost thoughts…although, google is cool…that could be in the near future….but it isn’t now. If you also want the Google Love Meter on your desktop go to Google. Search for Love Meter. Follow directions. Hours and hours of fun! I’m telling you!

8 Responses to Date #6–Mr. Ryan

  1. Andrea Huckstep says:

    Janelle…I am LOVING this! It seems like to me that you are really learning a lot about yourself and others. You are really facing quite a few of your dating challenges head on and maybe by the end you will be over them! I am SO excited to keep reading more!

    It really is the second thing I do on most mornings…only after nursing Tori!

  2. Bryson says:

    Janelle! I don’t know how well you golfed, but those golf shorts are pretty dang sexy on you!

    I think I would be next in line, but shoot, I just read the rules and regs and I guess married men are exempt!

  3. April Kim says:

    I love this! I love reading everyday what you have done. I am so proud of you, I think of the times I have been uncomfortable on a date and I think I would have gone and crawled under a rock. You are amazing!

    Can’t wait to read the rest!

  4. Nelly says:

    I agree, the shorts are adorable on you. It’s sounds like you had a lot of fun with this guy.

  5. Sherrie says:

    the joy of my day…reality dating with Janelle! I’d Tevo it if I had one! 🙂

  6. Collette says:

    I like that picture at the end of your purse…with you and Ryan in the background!

    It should be added that you forgot your phone at home and he called it and told our sister Jill that he had taken a wrong turn and was calling to let you know he might be a little late. A gentleman (and an officer?)

  7. delightsgal says:

    I like this Ryan guy…do old roomie’s opinions count? So have you been making plans for second dates? Laya lady J!

  8. Paige Price Barron says:

    I hope you get to go out with him again.

Leave a Reply

