Date #3–Mr. Mark

When I came home last night, I was already looking forward to Date #3–Mr. Mark.

There is one thing that is for certain with him…he always makes me smile! Mr. Mark has enthusiasm! He personifies the phrase, “you are only as old as you think you are!” It’s endearing and contagious and so I always have fun with Mr. Mark. So I was excited when he came to me and told me he wanted to be one of the 31s!

img_00011

Mr. Mark has really been working his way up the ranks in karate, and so he thought he would take me along and have his friends show me a few things. I was excited until I pulled up and looked through the window. Everyone was serious and dressed in their Gi ( I just googled that, btw) and everyone came about to my hip bone. There is something pretty intimidating about young kids, who know what they’re doing. Mr. Mark pulled up and got excited so there was no more room for anxiety!  Well, not until Mr. Mark put on his gi, and now I really stood out in my bright pink shirt! But it was fun. The studio is set up so that different levels can be working at the same time. So while I am learning self-defense, front kicks, jabs, and side kicks, Mark is going through routines that look intense and serious. It’s rare for Mark to be that serious, so it was interesting to watch and fun to see him really get it and make it look good.

Afterwards, we took the suggestion of my younger sister and went to Baskin Robbins! Tonight was 31 cent scoop night at 31 flavors! Honestly, we just couldn’t pass it up, if fit in perfect!! We picked our flavors sat outside and talked. Mr. Mark works hard for what he wants and expects quality from himself and others. He is the most observant man I know. I consider myself an observant person, but Mr. Mark puts me to shame. Which is difficult in a lot of situations, because he isn’t afraid to call your bluff and it is usually pretty funny. But a lot of times, it’s just nice to know that you are noticed and known in a group of people. I can always count on Mr. Mark to make me smile when there are lots of people around, because he knows me and knows my mannerisms and what they mean. That is a fun feeling.

So, we had some good laughs and enjoyed the Polaroid camera and I got to learn some new karate moves! It was a great night!

My Favs

1.     His random bursts of ghetto hip-hop lyrics. He picks out the most hilarious phrases. I love it.

2.     The excited look he has when he sees me.

3.     His random and unexpected interests and doings.

4.     His observant nature, I used to tease him that he’s a stare-er…and he is, but I think you just get used to it.

5.     He’s just down to earth and doesn’t get caught up in it all.

Google Love Meter Score:  57%

Apparently Google doesn’t like our name combination!! So sad!

img_0002

Mark’s idea of “romantically” feeding me ice cream…hmm!

4 Responses to Date #3–Mr. Mark

  1. delightsgal says:

    Oh, Mr. Karate Mark! How fun for you guys. We did the 31 cent scoop last night as well…so it’s an annual thing? I can only imagine the “romantic” ice cream feeding! xoxo, treens

  2. Collette says:

    Mark has a great smile. Karate is a fun date night. And can you ever really go wrong ending the night with ice cream?

  3. Nelly says:

    It’s always good when someone is happy to see you. Janelle you need to have a few bombs so that it’s easier for us to pick our favorite.

  4. Sherrie says:

    I didn’t know Mark does Karate…that is Mark Edington right?

Leave a Reply

