Date #1–Mr. Carlos

And, so the adventure begins. When I tell them about this project a lot of people have said, “this sounds like a movie”. Never did I really think that until right now…as I am about to write about a date I went on with a pretty good assurity that my date will actually read what I write. I think I am starting to see why people give me that look when they hear about it! This is kinda crazy! But a whole lot of fun.img_0005

Disclaimer: Mr. Carlos says he isn’t photogenic. I think he did just fine!

 

 

Date #1 couldn’t have started the project any more perfect than it did.

Background:  Mr. Carlos was one of the first men to email me after I posted the website. If there could ever be perfect emails for this different situation, Mr. Carlos had nailed them. I enjoyed reading them and they made me smile. So I was really looking forward to tonight’s date.

 I met Mr. Carlos tonight after work. We had agreed to meet and just get smoothies after work. I know he got some razzing from the ladies at work about the simplicity of the date, but I thought it was perfect. We sat outside with a cool breeze, drank our smoothies and started asking questions. It seemed very comfortable and genuine and I loved it! Sometimes I wonder if dates get too wrapped up in trying to impress the other that we don’t really get to know who we went on a date with. That wasn’t the case here. Tonight I really felt like I got to know a lot about Mr. Carlos in our short time together.

We talked about our lives and laughed about the unexpected twists and turns life brings. We talked about our families, religion, misconceptions, astrological signs {PS…I hate that questions because everyone (male and female alike) has the same shutter in their eyes when I tell them I’m a Gemini….I want to tell them I’m a nice Gemini or a different Gemini, but I don’t really know what a “Gemini” is….so I just sit back and wait for that look of surprise and disappointment all at once!} We spoke of our jobs and some jobs in between. Mr. Carlos works for a day-trading company, teaching people how to trade in the stock market. I could tell he enjoys teaching and helping people and he especially enjoys learning. I love that he went into  a field that he was possible intimidated by, because it seemed so overwhelming and he has learned  all about it and has become successful and comfortable in it. It was fun to watch his passion for it.

img_0006And we talked a lot about dating. It was funny to hear about the things that made him nervous just minutes to meeting up with me. It is ridiculous what insecurities come out when you are about to go on a date and the thoughts we put ourselves through. It made me feel better about my own ridiculous insecurities and nerves I had all the day  long!

We both agreed on dating, and basically how we both don’t enjoy it or do it that often. So, tonight was a milestone for both of us. And it was fun.  Sincere and easy. And just plain refreshing!

 

 

My Favs:

1.      His Eyes

2.    Gentleman, traditional and I loved it!

3.    Sincere

4.    Talking to him was easy.

 

And since Google knows everything….

Google Love Meter Score: 76.5%

Thanks Mr. Carlos for being brave and pioneering the adventure!

 

10 Responses to Date #1–Mr. Carlos

  1. Andrea Huckstep says:

    Sounds perfect…I can’t wait to read about the others. Job well done, Mr. Carlos!

  2. Collette says:

    Good start! He looks like someone to me…

    I didn’t realize Gemini was bad. I thought that since it is the twins that it meant you have enough passion for two. Or maybe it means you are bipolar. Of course, what do I know? I’m a Cancer. The crab. Not cool to be in a bad mood when you’re a Cancer.

    Okay – Mr. Carlos – I’ll keep him in mind.

  3. Paige Price Barron says:

    Nelly told me about this and I think that you are very brave and exciting! I will be checking in with you all month to see how it goes. I really liked Mr. Carlos. Being a gentileman and traditional is a must (for me) and also being sincere is huge. He seems like a very nice guy.

  4. Nelly says:

    Sounds like a nice evening. It was a good way to start everything off. Good job Mr. Carlos. Sometimes less is more.

  5. April Kim says:

    What a great first date! He seems like a great guy! I can’t wait to “meet” the rest of them!

  6. Alison says:

    I’m so excited the dates have begun… am so excited to read about them all.

    Oh, and my dream job is to cast a movie… please consider this my formal application for that job when you sell the movie rights! 🙂

  7. Jen Garbett says:

    Ooooo…this is so much fun! I can’t wait to read more and more and more! Blogging from Janelle on DATES daily? Wow…can it get any better. Thanks Mr. Carlos for treating my fabulous girl like she deserved…and I agree…less is more on a first date!

  8. Cara Hafen says:

    I love love love this! Reading these blogs is going to the best part of every day for me! I can’t wait to hear from you every day! PS I miss you!!!

  9. Michelle says:

    This is so exciting! Your date sounds so fun yet so simple, what a great start!! I can’t want to read more!!!

  10. Emily (Harris) says:

    I like Mr. Carlos already. He seems like a no pressure, laid back, and affordable type of guy. There aren’t a lot of traditional gentlemen out there. It’s nice to know there are a few around. I’m your first date went smooth. Thank you Mr. Carlos!

Leave a Reply

